This post is steering away from my usual "Hey Let's Fish Bowl..." I want to focus on the overwhelming emphasis on keeping the silence and the daily mask we wear tightly every morning as we wake up before we are off to work, school, dropping off the kids (if you have any), and just going out in general.
There is one thing I hate the most and it's when people say "Don't Cry" my answer is and excuse my language "Why the fuck should I not cry?" There is this constant insistence on concealment furthermore a criminalization of having a simple human emotion. At times so "taboo" that the only time most of us cry is at night on our beds in clandestine conditions where no one can see you and the suppressed thoughts your body yearns to profess to the person you love, the person you hate, the person who has made a difference in your life, the world is kept within the walls of your room.
"If only these walls could speak"--unknown
People cringe at the site of a serious almost emotional moment unless allowed to under the right conditions such as Ceremonies, Banquets, and Intimate shindigs; even then there are criteria for how you can cry. It is frightening to believe that we carry on our daily lives suppressing the one thing that makes us HUMAN BEINGS.
Dear Reader, We are "feelers" We feel, We Hurt, We Cry, We get Angry, We get Happy; WE GET EMOTIONAL. I will ask question because many will never dare to ask "Is there not something incredibly dangerous in not feeding our body those feelings?" It is the mode by which can be sane!
We must remind ourselves that suppression is a mechanism by which to keep us ON CHECK. This is not meant to be some pessimistic post, I am just critiquing the fact that we are constantly told not to be emotional because that would mean one is WEAK.
Best,
Bertii
P.S: Don't be wrapped up in MAIZ LEAVES, unwrap yourself and CRY, SCREAM, BE HAPPY....
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment